Why I’m Healthy.

Many people want to get healthy and lose weight so they can have their “body of their dreams.”

But let’s think for a second. Is that really what it’s all about? Is the pinnacle of your life truly when you “finally” get that “perfect” body you’ve always wanted? Will all your problems go away? Is THAT when you will be happy and the only time in life you will be seen as “healthy?”

As a 24 year old woman, I’ve had these messages bombarded at me my entire life. But you want to know why I choose to be healthy? I’m healthy because I love feeling in control of my life. And I have to quote this word for word because it truly is an awesome statement from a wonderful blogger, Fit Mama Training:

“Exercise and eating healthy are not chores. They are actually awesome tools that lead to improved body image, more energy and feeling good. They are basic ways we can take care of ourselves. I was kinda mad when I figured that out… like “Why had no one ever said THAT before?” Why did it always feel like some big “ought to” that would make me hotter or “just one of those people” I didn’t believe I was? ” -Fit Mama Training’s FB Page

Living healthily will help you to tackle life’s challenges with a clarity of mind and strength. Because God knows, life throws us lots of challenges and we need all the help we can get!

Being healthy and strong helps me develop an attitude that I can then share with my future children. (whenever that may be!) I never want my little girl thinking that her self worth is in direct correlation to what the scale says, or to even know what the phrase “going on a diet” means. I want to be able to play with my grandchildren for hours. I want to live life to the fullest extent that I possibly can so I can help others do the same!

And the best part about this journey of health is that it doesn’t ever “end.” And ANYONE can start ANYTIME! It’s also an on-going learning process for everyone. When we can realize that focusing on overall health and vitality is more important than losing “those last 10 lbs.” by crash dieting unhealthily, we can focus on gaining strength, mobility, and a positive outlook instead.

I hope one day in the future we can spend less time criticizing ourselves in the mirror, highlighting everything we dislike about ourselves because we’re not at our “goal” yet, and we can spend more time learning a new sport, creating art, or spending time with loved ones. Our minds and unhealthy, negative thoughts are often our worst enemy! 

I hope one day in the future women can sit around talking about how awesome their bodies are instead of finding ways to pick them apart. 


Image
I’ve come across some truly amazing blogs lately, including Fit Mama Training (who inspired me to make this post) and Go Kaleo. I highly recommend you go check them out!

Image

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Healthy.

  1. Peyton says:

    Ive hit a weight loss plateau and it is killing me! I have extremely bad self esteem ahen it comes to how I look. I workout at least 4 days a week alternating between leg days and upperbody/core days. But my schedule this year has me a little bit more limited on time. How long should my workouts be? Can you please help me come out with a workout plan to get me past this?!

    • fitstrongsexy says:

      Honestly, your workouts don’t need to be that LONG, they just need to be effective. Lifting heavier and focusing on compound lifts like DEEP squats, deadlifts, bench press instead of light rep isolation moves really help a lot! Also, incorporating HIIT cardio is never a bad idea. Plus- 15 minutes of HIIT cardio is MORE effective than a 30 minute moderate intensity cardio session! To do HIIT you can do it on the treadmill, elliptical, or bike. Just go 30 seconds ALL OUT AT FULL SPEED, then relax to catch your breath, or about 45 seconds- 1 min. Then repeat over and over until your 15 mins is up! I like to play around with the incline on the treadmill also, making each sprint harder! HIIT with heavy lifting will be exactly what you need. For some good technique on lifts- check out the blog Girls Gone Strong, they have videos for squat techniques and some other lifts that will definitely help you!

      Hope that helps!

Leave a comment