Wedding Inspiration- Garden Glamour. Ooh la la!

If you’ve been following me on Twitter or know me in real life, you may already know that I’m getting married next May! (wee!) Of course, me being the crafty, creative, frugal person I am, I’ve decided to DIY everything. And yes, that’s pretty much everything.

I’m making my own invitations/stationery, decorations, flowers, veil, bridal accessories, and probably more. But hey! I like doing those things so it’s okay. I actually really love a challenge, and being able to make things personal and 100% unique. Plus- we’re on a budget and in case you didn’t hear, weddings these days average at around $20,000 a pop. Crazy, huh? Thankfully, Kyle doesn’t really mind what kind of budget-queetn shenanigans I  get into, and our parents don’t mind either, so I’m able to let my mind roam free!

Naturally, I’ve been scrolling Pinterest like a crazy woman these past few months, trying to get some inspiration without trying to get told what I “should” and “should not” do.  Nothing wrong with mason jars and chalkboards, but I feel like I want to think outside the box a little bit. I’m a pretty good Pinterest searcher as far as finding specific things, so I was able to really come across some things that have helped me develop a good aesthetic to play off of!

I will say A HUGE part of my design inspiration is actually my dress. I’m obsessed with my dress. My dress is the dress to end all dresses. This dress makes me happy. I want to wear it around the apartment.

Now I’m not going to reveal it here or anything, but I will just say it has an unusual element that has really helped me get the gears rollin’ on some designing ideas! But I’ll let you guys see that in a few months, don’t worry 😉

Below I wanted to share an inspiration board I made as I’m thinking of my veil/floral design. I love the idea of a green garden paired with elegant tulle and sparkles, so I named this “Garden Glamour,” because that’s pretty much the style I want to evoke! Our wedding is not going to be black-tie formal in any way, but I still want things to be pretty, fresh, and modern.

gardenglamourbouquet | table | long veil | bride | love sign | bouquet/dress | sequin table | flower crown bride | green crown

I thought a flower crown veil was such an amazingly unique idea and I’m excited to take that project on! Yes, there are some truly talented wedding accessory designers that have some pre-made veils, but the fact that I can just…buy the fabric and supplies myself and do it for hundreds cheaper….I just couldn’t pass that up. At least I have some experience in creating hair accessories- I even had a brief stint as an etsy seller until I decided I didn’t want to do it all the time.

Also, I want to make the veil detachable, so I can have it for the ceremony, and leave just the flower crown for the reception.  Even though this idea is little unusual, I think it’s exactly what I want to do to be able to incorporate  elements of the traditional (white veil) with the offbeat (flower crown.)

I also wanted to focus on greenery instead of flower buds, because I think the green is just so,  I don’t know. Refreshing! Any other floral accents will mainly be white, with a few red/orange/yellow flowers interspersed throughout, similar to the beer bottle vase photo up at top (which we also will incorporate!). Baby’s breath or peony (if I can find some silk peonies, that is!) are my preferred white flowers to use.

In my bouquet, I’m also thinking of incorporating some fresh herbs such as rosemary and sage. Tie it all together with a white silk ribbon and exposed stems. Doesn’t that sound just so lush? It’s going to smell amazing, at least 🙂

Anyhow, I’m excited to finally have a sort of vision of all the design details, because that was alluding me for awhile. Some of my original visions were a little “too” glitzy and glamorous for our venue and the nature of our wedding. I’m really hoping for that perfect balance of romance, glamour, and whimsy, and I think this route is going to get me there!

Did I mention I got a lot of my supplies at the Dollar Tree? For the record, their silk flowers are pretty much the same quality as Michael’s. And I’m not using real flowers because HAVE YOU RESEARCHED HOW EXPENSIVE THAT IS. Yeah, no. No pretty, expensive flowers that are just going to be thrown away the next day for me. This girl is NOT down with that.

2013-12-30 16.04

My cat Curry being glamorous amongst the tulle

As I create my projects I’ll be sure to post my progress! I’m excited to take you all on this journey with me. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wedding Inspiration- Garden Glamour. Ooh la la!

  1. Rae says:

    This post is great and your ideas are beautiful. I am getting married in August and I’m completely the opposite of crafty or creative so I love it when I see great ideas posted. I look forward to hearing more about it (and of course, seeing the dress!) as the date gets closer.

    • janinecdemichele says:

      Thank you so much! Congrats! 🙂 I’ll be trying to post my finished projects as I do them and maybe it can help you out! I definitely will write a detailed post about how I saved $$$ throughout the whole process, and how it turned out at the end. It’s exciting to DIY things, I think! Anyone can do it, just gotta get crafty 🙂

      Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

